Outside or Inside?

So after our swim in Lake Hartwell, I was wondering what everyone’s thoughts were on outside swimming versus inside swimming? I am a huge fan of outdoor swimming, not only do I get a great sun burn, but I also like being surrounded by nature, and of course seeing the sky. I also feel that swimming outside takes away the isolation one may feel when swimming in an indoor pool. Any other thoughts on the matter?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Outside or Inside?

  1. When you are swimming inside it seems like it’s harder to breathe, and I think it inhibits my swimming because I’m unable to get a full breath to keep me going. It’s also usually too hot. Outside was hard only because I could not stay in a straight line, I kept being thrown off course and swimming the wrong way. I still preferred it though again because of the breathing as well as the cold patches of water we swam through.

  2. evabilo803 says:

    I love swimming outside. On a beautiful day, nothing beats swimming in a pool with the sun beating down. I think it’s the perfect activity that combines both the natural aspect of the outside world and the mysterious realm of the water. I always found it so interesting when I was little that on a hard swim I would get out a breath with an increased heart rate, only to think that I stepped outside of the water and did a workout of similar intensity, I would be drenched in sweat on that hot summer day. Now, I swim more in indoor pools just because they are more convenient, but when summer roles around, it’s easier to swim a couple laps out with nature.

    And as far as tan lines go, here’s Diana Nyad who’s the open water swimming pro. It’s basically a tattoo!

  3. etsloan says:

    I really love swimming outside! Although I really don’t like when I get overheated, mostly from my cap, I love everything else about it. The swim at lake Hartwell was wonderful because I could see the sun shining through the water, the water was warm, and I could see the sky. But I think what I love most about swimming outside is that there are no lane lines or wall. so I could swim with my eyes closed every few strokes. I love that feeling.

  4. adavis22014 says:

    Outside hands down. Some indoor pools depress me. I don’t know if it’s the lighting or the fact that there is nothing pretty to look at. I really liked the swim at Hartwell, although it felt like I was swimming for a life time. When I was a little kid, there were two swimming pools we went too, an outdoor one and an indoor one and I would also choose the outdoor one. It was always more fun and more free. I love when its really hot out and the pool is really cool, its an amazing feeling jumping in. I also loved swimming in an outdoor pool when it was raining.

  5. I prefer to swim outside, but not in open water. I enjoy outdoor pools much more than indoor pools. Whenever I think of swimming, I always anticipate the sun and the sky. I feel like indoor pools are a lot more boring.

Leave a Reply

