Fast VS Slow

Of course I attended the Kroc Center again for my solo swim for our last blog post. I had a great experience the last time so I decided I would go again. While at the Kroc Center I followed the instructions of Dr. Menzer and swam both fast and slow. There was more of a difference between the two besides the time it took me to get from one end of the pool to the other.

I will explain my thoughts when swimming fast first, and my thoughts when swimming slow.

When swimming fast, I had somewhat of a goal to get to one end of the pool as fast as I could. I felt I was racing against time, and doing anything I had to do to get to “where I was going” as fast as I can. Usually I would swim at a fast pace because I’m racing someone, but when the idea is implanted in my brain that you need to swim fast, you are still competing, but it’s against yourself and the clock. Each time I swam fast I would look at the clock to see if my time was shorter. I tried thinking of every swimming technique Dr. Menzer told me, but it was hard to think because I had “tunnel vision” the entire time and it was making it to the other side. Just like the movie PRIDE when they were focused on swimming fast and winning, they eliminated everything around them and just swam for their lives. That’s exactly how I felt even though in my case I wasn’t swimming against anybody and was not making history.

It was very strenuous and tiring but I was willing to feel that way because I knew I had to go fast and I had a “mission” that I needed to complete.

While I was swimming slow, it was much more reflective in the sense that I could gather all my thoughts while swimming. I was able to focus on my breathing, my strokes, and my legs. I felt like the pool was my world and I existed there all alone. Just as we read in Mundanity of Excellence, each technique gathered over time makes you much more of a swimmer. It felt easier to swim because I paced my breathing, I cupped my hands more while relaxing them, and I swam with my hips. Each of these techniques I gathered overtime really helped. The text also talks about motivation being a reason for good swimming. I was motivated to put the skills I learned to action. The swim wasn’t a matter of swimming because I “had” to but because I “wanted” to.

The thoughts were completely different when swimming fast and slow. But the main reason for the difference was fast swimming, I had a goal that I wanted to reach in a certain time frame while the slow swimming, I was swimming just to swim and trying to improve my techniques.

kide

Just as the picture above, I was trying to pace myself and relax while swimming slow. This picture may seem arbitrary, but it was a result from GOOGLE when I typed slow swimming and thought it was a perfect illustration. She seems calm, cool, and collected.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

