New Water

For this assignment I decided to visit the Kroc Center in downtown Greenville with my nephew who came to visit with my parents for Memorial Day weekend. Just walking into the facility I was very impressed because of how modern and clean everything was. My experience with public pools is our local YMCA in downtown Frankfort which has been around since 1971. It’s pretty run down and really not very clean. Growing up I would have my swim practices for my year round swim team there and the water was always a little foggy and definitely too hot. It was not very inviting and there was certainly no area for children to climb and play on like at the Kroc Center.

IMG_0356

Kroc Center

IMG_0359

Kroc Center

When I walked into the pool area I was very pleased to see that it wasn’t too crowded so I wouldn’t have to share a lane with anyone (I’m not a big fan of talking while swimming or working out in general). While the swimming community in the pool was significantly more diverse than what we saw at the Devinger Dolphins’ practice, I was still surprised to see a majority of white people. There were many small children and their parents; and they spent most of their time in the children’s area or on the slide. They seemed to be there to have a good time and socialize. There were two other adults besides me who were swimming laps: one who might have been swimming competitively and a woman who was just doing it for exercise. I noticed that the people who were in the shallow end with the children’s playground and slide were chit-chatting while the people swimming laps were much more focused on themselves and their workout.

IMG_0347

My nephew, Caydon, not using the lap lanes for swimming laps 🙂

I was a little worried about the pool water being too warm because where there are small children, it is important that the water isn’t too cold for them, but thankfully I didn’t find the water to be too warm. It also felt like a faster pool than the PAC. However it was difficult having children playing in the lane next to me and making a lot of waves and commotion. I didn’t mind it because I wasn’t doing a serious workout, but it would have been quite distracting if I was training for a swim or trying to do my meditative swim there. The gutters were actually really interesting because of how they were kind of at the same level as the water but then they gradually sloped up. I think that makes for a faster pool because the waves aren’t bouncing off of the walls. Also, I noticed that there were no diving blocks so I would assume that there are not swim meets at the Kroc center. That would mean that the lifeguards and managers of the pool don’t have to be as concerned with the “speed” of the pool (in terms of it being better for competitive meets or not).

IMG_0350

Kind of cloudy water. Not ideal.

Overall this was a great experience, especially since it’s the one of the few public pools in Greenville. I think it’s great that Greenville has a wonderful center like the Kroc Center for kids and adults to become familiar with the water. I don’t know if I would go back to swim laps because of all of the distractions and the price, but I enjoyed getting off campus and into a new pool.

IMG_0352

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

