Meditative Swimming

I love pushing off of the wall when I reach the end of the lane; that was probably one of the best parts of the meditative swim. I had a whole lane to myself and there were only a few people occupying the other lanes. I prefer being alone, so it was very nice. It’s like what Charles Sprawson says in Lynn Sherr’s book, “swimming appealed to the introverted and the eccentric, individualists involved in a mental world of their own” (Sherr 7); introverted I am. I find that I breathe very heavily underwater, making a lot of bubbles and that I never really pay attention to what my legs are doing when I swim; my attention is devoted to my arms and my current daydreams. I daydream while I swim while also thinking of what I’m want to eat for lunch/dinner; it’s no secret that swimming makes us hungry. 

http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/gallery-e6frer9f-1225842212749?page=1

Me Trying To Swim

I totally relate to what Nate Jackson was talking about in “I’d rather go through NFL…than do what Michael Phelps does.” Specifically, getting that annoying song stuck in your head. I had Britney Spear’s “Toxic” stuck in my head the whole time, don’t know why, but I did.

Also, I used to play soccer and I was really good so I was thinking about how much better I am at that particular sport. I think I might prefer ball sports to swimming like Nate Jackson, but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy swimming; it is definitely more relaxing and I do feel really good and quite accomplished after I’m done. I alternated between freestyle and breaststroke; I found that I had more thoughts unrelated to swimming when I was doing the breaststroke. I was too busy focusing on my breathing with freestyle. If the water were cold, I’d probably be thinking only about that. I think the Furman pool is the perfect temperature, so I think it was more relaxing and I could focus more easily. I swam for about 30 minutes, but it felt so much longer. It seems like I had nothing but time. That is probably because there are no distractions. I lost track of my laps after 20, so I don’t know how far I went. The lanes do not look that long when you walk in, but when you start to do your laps, they seem so much longer. When I see the wall, I am relieved. I push off of it as hard as I can, like a torpedo through the water, it never gets old! I try to see how long I can swim without coming to the surface for air; my lungs must be pretty pathetic because I find myself gasping for air like I’ve been deprived of it for days. I mostly pay attention to my arms while swimming. I try to stretch them out as far as they can go, which is a pleasant feeling. Every time I swim, I just wish that I could see perfectly and with ease, and that I could breathe underwater like second nature; all I ever wanted to be was the little mermaid.  

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

