What Makes a Pool Fast?

What Makes a Pool Fast?

Useful for the Swimming Communities blog post assignment

Coach Rick - Mighty Tritons Swimming

This is one of those questions that makes non-swimmers look at you kinda funny. How can you have a fast pool or a slow pool. It’s water. And the formula for that has been known for a while.  H2O.

But as any swimmer can tell you, there are definitely fast pools, and definitely slow pools. So what makes them that way?

Swimmers will come up with more reasons that you can imagine, and I have to admit that some of them are pretty creative.  But let’s stick with more conventional thinking.  There are 4 main factors that affect the swimming speed of a pool:  turbulence (surface waves), pool depth, water circulation, and starting blocks.

Turbulence

This is the big one – the major factor that affects speed, and the major factor that has impacted on pool design over the years. If you’ve ever swum in the ocean, you…

View original post 1,207 more words

This entry was posted in Course Readings and Info, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Makes a Pool Fast?

  1. adavis22014 says:

    THis is quite interesting. I’m not really a swimmer so I had no Idea that there were such things as fast and slow pools. I guess you learn something new every day.

  2. heatherayer says:

    I’m really glad you posted this, Dr. Menzer, because when I swam competitively I always knew which pools I would probably perform better in. At the time, I didn’t think at all about the different aspects the pools shared like the gutters or the depth of the pools, but now I’m starting to see they all had similar characteristics. I’m a little surprised the author didn’t talk more about the temperature because that was one thing I always noticed when I would go to meets.

Leave a Reply

