Do You Ever Get The Swumchies?

After our first swim workout the other day, I had forgotten how extremely hungry I get after swimming. So much so that I was thinking of wonderful things to eat as I swimming the warm down. Does anyone else experience this? If so, I found this great article on a blog that answered my question as to what is physiologically happening while you swim that causes the hunger monkeys to be set lose. It’s an interesting read. I personally do not understand why the author has a solution to the hunger “problem,” quite frankly after a good swim large amounts of food is just heaven. I’m already savoring for the meal that I am going to have after this upcoming mediative swim. Let’s swap our favorite swumchies recipes!

http://teachyourkidstoswim.com/blog/2010/08/09/mystery-solved-why-swimming-makes-you-hungry/

^The Link to the article

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do You Ever Get The Swumchies?

  1. Mel says:

    Swimmers are hungry people. One of the first blog posts I wrote was about this subject: http://wp.me/s48O1u-hunger
    My go-to post-swim food these days is Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter. I keep a jar in my office. It’s unbelievably good.

  2. arodcinco55 says:

    As kids I do remember that after a long day in the pool, playing around with friends, the hunger is at an all time high. I couldn’t wait to eat a snack and fill my stomach. The only problem with eating was the waiting for the food to digest so I could return back to the pool.

  3. etsloan says:

    For some reason, I never crave popcorn more than those times when I’m at, or just left, the pool. It doesn’t matter if its the middle of summer and my brother and I are dinking around the neighborhood pool or if Ive just stepped into the shower after an incredibly long and hard workout. Popcorn it is. Buttery popcorn, to be more precise!

  4. It really is an activity that leaves you feeling extra hungry. I don’t even like the ph (dining hall), but I ate just about every item they had available! I know that when I was younger I was told we were supposed to eat carbs before a meet, so my mom always made us pasta. Mind you not really heavy pasta, but pasta with oil. After I competed; however, I always enjoyed some pool-side nachos and a nerds rope.

  5. adavis22014 says:

    Every time I went to the pool, my mom would pack my best friend and I two peanut butter sandwiches, two Capri-Suns, and two bananas, because she knew how hungry we got after swimming. I thought since I swam, I was burning enough calories for me to completely ignore the nutritional value of my favorite foods. However, it didn’t matter because I was a little kid with a very high metabolism. I still get hungry after I swim, but the difference is I have to be careful.

Leave a Reply

